Constantly Varied

Constantly Varied (Wk49)

If you are like me, then your inbox is populated with newsletters from various sources of interest. And, if you are like me, you at least scan them before marking them read, delete, or archive.

This is why I post this newsletter online. You can choose to read it or not. The only requirement on your part is to either subscribe to this blog to receive notifications of new posts or bookmark this site in order to return at your leisure. I am good either way.

I am experimenting with a new format that utilizes section headers. Not sure how many is too much, or too little. Comments welcome.

NEWS TO ME

We are a bit late to the Netflix series ‘The Crown‘ but are now caught up to the 4th season. Prior to watching this show, I was never interested in the Monarchy, and apart from having a Corgi, had only casual knowledge of the Queen. However, I now have my phone at my side and find myself googling information throughout each episode. While the show at times fictionalizes some of the details, it’s still a fascinating story and an interesting piece of history.

SCIENCE & TECH

EPICUREAL VICE

As the days grow dark earlier and colder, I find myself turning away from lighter cool weather beverages like Heineken Light, Daytime IPA, and Yuengling Flight for heartier stouts and stronger drinks.

While I consider myself a whiskey (with an ‘e’) man; lately I’ve been reading up on bourbon and even bought a small bottle of Four Roses – Small Batch to try. It wasn’t my first choice, but since I have no experience with bourbon, I have nothing to compare it to. It does seem to pack a stronger bite than whiskey, though that isn’t all that bad.

I occasionally enjoy heavy imperial stouts (e.g. Old Rasputin) and came across these bourbon barrel stouts from Goose Island. At 14.3% ABV, this was the heaviest I’ve had to date. The smell of bourbon hits you first and eased back as I sipped it slowly over the course of an hour or so. I had read the taste changes the closer it gets to room temperature and found by the end it finished with a touch of sweetness. Highly recommend.

WORTH A READ

My Life Countdown
Kevin Kelly, author of Wired Magazine has been dubbed ‘the real world’s interesting man,’ and has been credited with coining the term ‘1,000 True Fans‘ and ‘the Death Clock’. He also runs his own website which among many aspects has a blog. I came across this post where he describes how an aging friend, tries to make the best use of the remaining years of his life.

TL;DR – imagine fitting what you want to accomplish in your life into 5-year blocks

The Archetypical Cycle of Internal Order and Disorder
Ray Dalio, Co-Chief Investment Officer & Co-Chairman of Bridgewater Associates, L.P., is one of the smartest men in the world when it comes to investing. He has made enough money to last several lifetimes. More recently, he authored the book “Principles” and it has become the go-to tome for understanding management, economics, and life. This post is worth a read if you want to understand not only the cycle of order and disorder but where we are currently within it.

TL;DR – the US and China are at opposite positions in this cycle

ONLY IN JAPAN

As if Japan wasn’t safe enough, Honda has introduced a shoulder-mounted robot to help kids navigate to and from school. Despite being generally considered extremely safe compared to many countries (overall major crime rates are orders lower than the US), there are a surprising number of pedestrian deaths in Japan, particularly of children aged 7. This little robot is being compared to ‘lo-jack for your kid’.

DOUBLE-CLICK

Neanderthals not only fought but excelled at war. In this article, science tells the story of how Neanderthals resisted Homo sapiens (aka anatomically modern humans AMH) occupation of their land for 150,000 years. The larger build of the Neanderthal would have created difficulty in close-quarter combat with the slighter Homo sapien. The theory states AMH eventually resorted to longer-range weapons to defeat the Neanderthals.

In battle, their massive, muscular builds must have made them devastating fighters in close-quarters combat. Their huge eyes likely gave Neanderthals superior low-light vision, letting them maneuver in the dark for ambushes and dawn raids.

NICHOLAS R. LONGRICH.
Neanderthals And Humans Were at War For Over 100,000 Years, Evidence Shows

QUOTE TO LEAVE YOU WITH

“You develop an instant global consciousness, a people orientation, an intense dissatisfaction with the state of the world, and a compulsion to do something about it.”

Apollo Astronaut Edgar Mitchell
Galaxy Brain is Real. The Atlantic

 

Standard

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.